New Traffic Law in North Carolina Targets Moped Operators
On July 1, 2016, a new law went into effect in North Carolina requiring moped owners to carry liability insurance coverage with limits no less than $30,000 for injury to a single person, $60,000 for injury to more than one person, and $25,000 for property damage. Those who fail to carry such insurance could have their vehicle registration revoked. The law requiring operators to register their mopeds and receive a license plate for the vehicle went into effect in 2015.
The recent laws, affecting an estimated 28,000 registered moped users, have been controversial because mopeds are seen as an affordable means of transportation for poor commuters, who were first burdened by the $24 registration fee and now face the additional costs of insurance premiums. Critics say it is unfair to force moped riders to pay for the same level of liability coverage mandated for automobiles, which are capable of doing far greater damage.
However, proponents of the law have asserted that requiring mopeds to be registered is the best way to ensure that only manufacturer-certified vehicles are operated on the state’s highways. Furthermore, supporters maintain that the mandated coverage levels are not excessive when considering the potential cost of emergency care and other expenses for a pedestrian struck by a moped. If anything, they argue, the levels for automobiles are too low.
If you have questions about your rights after being injured in a moped accident, contact a vehicle accident law firm with more than 175 years of combined experience. Call Marcari, Russotto, Spencer & Balaban P.C. at (888) 351-1038 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.