South Carolina Cellphone and Distracted Driving Laws
Texting and driving: as dangerous as DUI
The U.S. Department of Transportation has determined that driving while using a cellphone or other personal electronic device affects your ability to react to roadway hazards to the same extent as having a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent. That means that, in South Carolina, driving while using a cellphone distracts you to the same extent as driving drunk. If you or a loved one has been harmed in a South Carolina traffic accident, the injury lawyers at Marcari, Russotto, Spencer & Balaban, P.C. are here to help you determine if distracted driving played a role.
South Carolina laws regarding distracted driving
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), the state does not restrict cellphone usage or texting while driving. It does, however, gather crash data about accidents in which cell phones are a factor. This has led the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to learn that public approval for distracted driving laws is on the rise:
- 90 percent of drivers support laws banning texting while driving.
- 80 percent of drivers support cellphone usage restrictions while driving.
- 75 percent believe these restrictions should apply to all drivers, not just high-risk groups such as teens.
The lack of distracted driving laws in South Carolina does not necessarily prohibit using distracted driving to prove liability in a crash. This means that if there is any solid evidence that the defendant was distracted by texting, speaking on a cellphone, using a GPS, reading a map or any form of distracted driving, your attorney may be able to argue that distracted driving is a reason to hold the defendant liable for your injuries.
Let a knowledgeable South Carolina injury lawyer examine your distracted driving case
The experienced lawyers at Marcari, Russotto, Spencer & Balaban P.C. focus on all aspects of personal injury law in South Carolina including negligence and accidents caused by distracted driving. Contact us today to arrange a free initial consultation regarding your case. We can arrange to meet at your home or in your hospital room if necessary. You owe us no legal fees unless we agree to represent you and are able to get you compensation. Talk to our attorneys today — call (888) 351-1038 or get in touch online.