Most states require drivers to carry car insurance and have laws specifying the minimum amount of liability coverage (coverage that protects you if you cause an accident) that must be purchased. The laws vary by state, but insurance coverage is usually broken down into a few different components expressed as numbers reflecting the limits for bodily injury and property damage.
In North Carolina, these numbers are 30/60/25. The first two numbers refer to bodily injury liability insurance limits and the third to the minimum amount of property damage liability coverage. This means that drivers in North Carolina must have coverage of at least $30,000 per person, $60,000 (the second figure) per accident and a minimum of $25,000 in property damage coverage.
North Carolina’s 30/60/25 insurance rule reflects only the required minimum coverage. In many cases, it is in a driver’s best interest to choose a higher level to ensure adequate protection in case of a serious auto accident. Many insurance experts recommend at least $100,000 per person for bodily injury. It is also recommended that you have at least $100,000 in coverage for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
If you sustained injuries in a car crash caused by another person’s negligence, it’s important to speak with a knowledgeable North Carolina personal injury attorney before agreeing to a settlement with an insurance company. Determining the cause of your crash and the full extent of your injuries before seeking compensation is likely to produce the best outcome.
Our trained operators are ready to assist.Start Chat
Available 24/7 — We’ll come to you