Everyone driving in North Carolina must carry liability insurance, which covers damages incurred by other parties when you cause an accident.
The North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI) provides a booklet that explains in detail how auto insurance works in North Carolina. NC Vehicle Motor Vehicle Law requires that drivers carry liability insurance covering a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury for each person and $60,000 total bodily injury for all persons in an accident. Under bodily injury, you can recover medical costs, which includes hospitalization, surgery, rehabilitation and past, present and future medical treatment. You can also recover lost wages for time missed at work.
However, there are limits on how much money you can receive for bodily injury claims. The other driver’s insurance policy sets these limits. The minimum limit is $30,000, but some drivers carry policies with higher limits in order to protect themselves in case of a more serious car accident.
Our trained operators are ready to assist.Start Chat
Available 24/7 — We’ll come to you