Car Accidents & Citations Spike, Despite Less Drivers!
If you or someone you love was involved in a motor vehicle accident, please call us today!
All across the United States, people are being asked to stay home, to aid in flattening the curve.
With that, comes fewer drivers on the road every day – to which one would think safety would be on the rise and accidents would be on the decline, however, NBC News is reporting that’s not the case at all.
Monthly Mileage Death Rate Rise
According to the National Safety Council, although motorist deaths in the month of March have decreased, by almost 10% since 2019, fewer people driving means that as a whole, the United States logged fewer miles driven, which led the monthly mileage death rate to increase by 14% in March.
Amongst the biggest offenders in terms of states, California is reporting that their Highway Patrol, saw an 87% increase in citations to drivers whose speed exceeded 100 miles per hour, from the middle of March to the middle of April.
Likewise in Maryland, State Police issued more than 150 citations in a one-week period, with all drivers exceeding 80 miles per hour.
Negligence Laws by State
Depending on the laws of your state, your own negligence, can either reduce the number of damages that are available to you after a personal injury lawsuit or entirely bar you from any recovery.
If the defense can prove you contributed to the accident through speeding, disregarding traffic signals, or driving recklessly, your right to recover damages may be in jeopardy. It is essential that you hire an aggressive, and committed attorney in your area, to investigate your case and assemble the evidence you need to win.
North Carolina & Virginia:
North Carolina and Virginia apply a strict contributory negligence standard to car accident cases. The laws in these states bar you from recovering any compensation if your own carelessness contributed to the accident.
Even if the court determines that another party is 99% responsible, that party can use your one percent as a complete defense against your claim.
South Carolina has comparative negligence laws that allow injured parties, to claim damages, for car crashes as long as they were less than 51% at fault for the accident.
As long as you can prove, that one or more other parties are mostly to blame, you can recover compensation – although, the court will reduce it in proportion to your fault.
Our auto accident lawyers have built a network of investigators and accident reconstructionists who are distinguished in their fields of expertise. Together with these experts, MRSB works to determine the cause of your vehicle crash. We collaborate with medical experts to document the full extent of your injuries and work to see if we can determine that your injuries and property damage are the result of another’s negligent or reckless behavior.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today! Sign Up Below!
We thoroughly investigate the circumstances of your accident and aggressively pursue the maximum compensation possible for your injuries. Call us today at (855) 435-7247 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation. Our firm works on contingency, so unless we’re able to recover compensation for you or a loved one, there’s no fee to be paid.
You can also contact us by filling out the form below. Once you’ve filled it out, and we’ve received it, we will make sure to reach out to you as soon as we possibly can. We look forward to hearing from you!