Select Page

Home/Slip and Fall



We Provide Representation Across North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia

A common theme when opening your own business, or buying a home is speaking to an agent at your insurance company about liability insurance. This helps in any situation where people may find themselves injured while on your property. Slip and fall accidents, more notably called premises liability, which is where it’s up to the injured party to prove that they were hurt by the property owners negligence.

  • Did they know about any harmful conditions on their property?
  • Did the owner(s) fail to take precautions to prevent injuries?
  • Was your injury a direct result of their poor planning and actions?

If you find yourself answering yes to these questions – calling Marcari, Russotto, Spencer and Balaban should be your next step! 

Where do Slip & Fall Accidents Take Place?

That’s a great question! These types of accidents can possibly take place anywhere, there is no one place where they all happen. It can be the supermarket, the mall, your church, a barbecue, movie theaters, restaurants, libraries – anywhere is a possibility.

Contact Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys!

We Make Sure Your Medical & Financial Concerns are Eliminated!

When you hire Marcari, Russotto, Spencer and Balaban to handle your premises liability case, in the first few moments, it will become quickly apparent that we have key tactical steps that we take to provide the highest-quality representation possible. Our attorneys will: 

  • Meet with Any Investigators.
  • Take clear and concise photos of the accident scene.
  • Meet with, and interview, key witnesses and location-based employees.
  • Take all necessary steps to review any safety inspection records.
  • Speak with, and consult with numerous field experts.


Contributory Negligence in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia

Click below to read through the laws in your state!

North Carolina

In North Carolina, the gross negligence law states that defendants who were grossly negligent in harming the plaintiff are liable, but there are many different rules to remember. North Carolina has a law that states if a plaintiff put themselves in danger, and the defendant had a chance to avoid causing harm, but through careless negligence did harm to the plaintiff, the defendant is liable. If an injured party is even 1% at fault for the situation, in North Carolina, it’s very hard to prove.

South Carolina

In South Carolina, an injured plaintiff can recover damages as long as their partial fault does not exceed that of the defendants. The court’s ruling to as how much fault they’re at will come back in the form of a reduction on recovery. If you’ve been awarded $100,000 and were also found to be 25% at fault for the accident, your recovery will be knocked down to $75,000.



In Virginia, if you are even 1% at fault for the accident, there is no possible way under state law that you can recover any compensation. Our attorneys will fight hard for you, to prove that you were not at fault in the slightest.


Schedule a Free Consultation Today With Our Team of Local Attorneys!

Are you the victim of a slip and fall accident? Call our firm today, our attorneys are ready to help!

Marcari, Russotto, Spencer and Balaban will proudly represent any individuals that have been involved in a personal injury matter, all across the Carolinas and Virginia. Call us toll free today at (855) 435-7247, or contact Marcari, Russotto, Spencer and Balaban online to schedule your free consultation. Our firm works on a contingency fee basis, meaning that until your case is resolved, and you’ve received your financial compensation, you don’t have to pay legal fees.